> Cause not stated in filing
Primary Jane LLC data breach investigation
Primary Jane LLC reported a data breach in Indiana on August 20, 2026, involving the exposure of sensitive patient information. This incident raises concerns regarding the security of personal health data and could lead to significant risks like identity theft for affected individuals.
- Filed
- August 20, 2026
- Regulator
- Indiana AG
- People affected
- Not stated
- File status
- Monitoring
What the filing confirms
- Primary Jane LLC reported the incident to the Indiana Attorney General.
- Information involved: Full Name, Date of Birth, Social Security Number, Medical Record Number, Health Insurance ID Number, Diagnosis and Treatment Information, Prescription Information, Billing and Financial Details.
Still unknown
- How many people were affected. The filing does not give a number.
- What caused the incident beyond the description in the filing.
- How the attackers got in, and whether basic safeguards such as multi-factor sign-in were in place.
Investigation notes
An investigation file has been opened regarding the data security incident reported by Primary Jane LLC to the Indiana Attorney General on August 20, 2026. While the specific nature of the breach remains unspecified in the official filing, the notification confirms unauthorized access to a significant volume of private patient information from the healthcare provider, with the breach date noted as July 13, 2026.
The compromised patient data included highly sensitive categories. Our review of the official filing indicates that this exposure included individuals' Full Name, Date of Birth, Social Security Number, Medical Record Number, Health Insurance ID Number, Diagnosis and Treatment Information, Prescription Information, and Billing and Financial Details.
The exposure of such comprehensive personal and health information creates substantial, long-term risks for affected individuals. This data can be exploited for medical identity theft, where criminals obtain medical services under a victim's name, or used in various fraud schemes including tax fraud and the opening of fraudulent credit accounts. Unlike financial account numbers, this type of personal health data cannot be easily changed or replaced.
Under federal laws like HIPAA and relevant Indiana consumer protection statutes, organizations like Primary Jane LLC are legally obligated to implement robust security measures to protect patient data. The occurrence of a data breach involving such sensitive information suggests potential deficiencies in these mandated safeguards, including how patient data was stored, accessed, and secured against unauthorized intrusion.
If you received a data breach notification letter from Primary Jane LLC, it is crucial to understand your situation. Carefully review the letter for any additional details they may have provided. Consider monitoring your financial accounts and credit reports for any suspicious activity. You may also be eligible to pursue legal action to seek accountability and compensation for the risks and damages incurred due to this data exposure.
Our firm is actively investigating the Primary Jane LLC data breach to determine the full extent of the company's liability and to assist affected individuals. We offer free, confidential case reviews to help you understand your rights and potential legal options, with no obligation.
What our attorneys examine
A cyberattack does not excuse a company from protecting the information it holds. We look at whether Primary Jane LLC used reasonable security, how long it kept the data, and how quickly it told the people affected. Those questions decide whether a class action or individual claim is possible. Read more on how ransomware lawsuits work, or browse other incident files in Indiana.
Primary Jane LLC data breach questions
- How many people were affected by the Primary Jane LLC data breach, and what was exposed?
- The filing does not give a count of affected people and lists the following information as involved: Full Name, Date of Birth, Social Security Number, Medical Record Number, Health Insurance ID Number, Diagnosis and Treatment Information, Prescription Information, Billing and Financial Details. Your own letter is the best guide to what was exposed about you, since notices are usually tailored to each person.
- Is the Primary Jane LLC data breach letter legit or a scam?
- A notice from Primary Jane LLC in the mail matches the breach Primary Jane LLC reported to the Indiana Attorney General on August 20, 2026. Check that the company name and dates in your letter match that filing. A real notice of data security incident won't ask for your password, Social Security number or a payment — if it does, contact Primary Jane LLC through a phone number or website you find yourself.
- Did Primary Jane LLC offer free credit monitoring?
- Look for an enrollment code in your Primary Jane LLC notice. Companies that offer free credit monitoring after a breach usually include it there, with a deadline to activate. Because Social Security numbers are listed in this filing, identity monitoring and a credit freeze matter more than usual. Signing up doesn't waive any legal rights you may have.
- Is there a Primary Jane LLC data breach class action lawsuit?
- Law firms often open an investigation after a breach notice like this one, and a class action lawsuit may follow. This page doesn't confirm that a lawsuit has been filed against Primary Jane LLC. You usually don't have to join a class action to be included — if a settlement is reached, class members are notified and can file a claim.
- What should I do after getting the Primary Jane LLC data breach notice?
- Keep the letter and the envelope, and note the date it arrived. Freeze your credit with Equifax, Experian and TransUnion, change any passwords the notice mentions, and sign up for any free credit monitoring the letter offers. Then check whether you may have a claim.
- Where can I see the official Primary Jane LLC breach notice?
- Primary Jane LLC's report is published by the Indiana Attorney General: https://www.in.gov/attorneygeneral/consumer-protection-division/id-theft-prevention/security-breaches/#909primary-jane-llc-2026 Compare it with the letter you received to confirm the dates and details match.
- Do I need a Primary Jane LLC data breach lawyer or attorney?
- An attorney can read your notice and tell you whether a claim makes sense. A case review here is free, and data breach cases are usually handled on contingency, so there is no upfront cost.
- Can I sue Primary Jane LLC over the data breach?
- It depends on what was exposed, the law in Indiana and your own state, and whether you've been harmed. Most people take part through a class action rather than suing alone. Keep your notification letter — it's the proof that connects you to the breach.
- How much could a Primary Jane LLC data breach settlement or claim be worth?
- There is no set amount, and no Primary Jane LLC settlement is confirmed here. In past data breach settlements, payments depended on what data was exposed and on documented losses — fraud, out-of-pocket costs and time spent dealing with the breach. The filing lists Full Name, Date of Birth, Social Security Number as involved. Keep receipts and records; they're what damages claims are built on.
Other open files in Indiana
- Bozeman School DistrictIndiana Attorney General · Filed date pendingCount not stated
- Bozeman School DistrictIN Attorney General · Filed date pendingCount not stated
- Teamsters Local 17Indiana Attorney General · Filed date pendingCount not stated
- Teamsters Local 17IN Attorney General · Filed date pendingCount not stated
- BankIndiana Attorney General · Filed date pendingCount not stated
- BankIN Attorney General · Filed date pendingCount not stated
Attorney advertising. An incident file reflects a public regulator filing and our review of it; it does not mean a lawsuit has been filed or that the company did anything unlawful. Submitting a review request does not create an attorney-client relationship.