RansomwareLawGroup.com

> Cause not stated in filing

Hand & Plastic Surgery Centre, PLC data breach investigation

Filed
March 11, 2025
Regulator
Massachusetts AG
People affected
Not stated
File status
Investigation Open

What the filing confirms

  • Hand & Plastic Surgery Centre, PLC reported the incident to the Massachusetts Attorney General.

Still unknown

  • Which categories of personal information were taken. The filing does not list them.
  • How many people were affected. The filing does not give a number.
  • What caused the incident beyond the description in the filing.
  • How the attackers got in, and whether basic safeguards such as multi-factor sign-in were in place.

Investigation notes

Hand & Plastic Surgery Centre, PLC is a specialized medical practice dedicated to providing complex reconstructive surgical procedures, hand care, and specialized aesthetic treatments to patients across Massachusetts. Because of the sophisticated clinical services they offer, this medical provider maintains exceptionally detailed records concerning patient health histories, pre-operative and post-operative care notes, surgical planning documents, and comprehensive insurance billing information. Operating within the healthcare sector requires the routine collection of vast amounts of highly confidential personal and medical data, establishing these specialized surgical centers as repositories for some of the most sensitive private information an individual can possess. In 2025, Hand & Plastic Surgery Centre, PLC formally reported a significant data security incident to the Office of the Massachusetts Attorney General. While the precise mechanics of the breach continue to be scrutinized, security incidents affecting specialized medical providers typically involve sophisticated cyberattacks such as ransomware deployments, unauthorized intrusions into internal clinical databases, or compromises of third-party vendors and electronic health record (EHR) systems. These breaches often exploit vulnerabilities in digital network perimeters, allowing unauthorized actors to infiltrate systems containing confidential patient files and administrative records without immediate detection. The exposure resulting from this breach implicates critical categories of personally identifiable information (PII) and protected health information (PHI), each carrying severe, long-term risks for affected individuals. Compromised data elements frequently include full legal names, dates of birth, Social Security numbers, medical record numbers, health insurance policy details, and specific clinical diagnosis and treatment records. When medical data is exposed alongside financial and identification details, victims face a heightened and sustained risk of targeted medical identity theft—where unauthorized parties fraudulently obtain healthcare services using a victim's insurance—as well as conventional financial fraud, fraudulent loan applications, and comprehensive identity takeover. Under federal and state law, including the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) and Massachusetts data privacy regulations, Hand & Plastic Surgery Centre, PLC had strict legal obligations to implement robust administrative, physical, and technical safeguards to protect patient data. These regulatory frameworks require covered entities to maintain continuous network monitoring, deploy advanced encryption standards, and conduct regular risk assessments. The occurrence of a data breach strongly suggests potential failures in these mandated security protocols, raising serious questions regarding whether the organization exercised appropriate due care in safeguarding sensitive patient files against foreseeable cyber threats. Receiving a formal data breach notification letter from Hand & Plastic Surgery Centre, PLC serves as an official acknowledgment that your private information was compromised due to corporate security failures. Legally, this notification establishes the necessary standing to participate in a class action lawsuit aimed at holding the healthcare provider accountable for its negligence. Affected individuals do not need to demonstrate actual financial loss or identity theft to pursue legal remedies; the mere exposure of private data is sufficient. Our law firm handles these complex data privacy cases on a contingency fee basis, meaning there are never any out-of-pocket costs or upfront fees, and we only collect a fee if we successfully recover compensation on your behalf.

What our attorneys examine

A cyberattack does not excuse a company from protecting the information it holds. We look at whether Hand & Plastic Surgery Centre, PLC used reasonable security, how long it kept the data, and how quickly it told the people affected. Those questions decide whether a class action or individual claim is possible. Read more on how ransomware lawsuits work, or browse other incident files in Massachusetts.

Hand & Plastic Surgery Centre, PLC data breach questions

Is the Hand & Plastic Surgery Centre, PLC data breach letter legit or a scam?
A notice from Hand & Plastic Surgery Centre, PLC in the mail matches the breach Hand & Plastic Surgery Centre, PLC reported to the Massachusetts Attorney General on March 11, 2025. Check that the company name and dates in your letter match that filing. A real notice of data security incident won't ask for your password, Social Security number or a payment — if it does, contact Hand & Plastic Surgery Centre, PLC through a phone number or website you find yourself.
Did Hand & Plastic Surgery Centre, PLC offer free credit monitoring?
Look for an enrollment code in your Hand & Plastic Surgery Centre, PLC notice. Companies that offer free credit monitoring after a breach usually include it there, with a deadline to activate. Enrolling does not give up your right to bring a claim.
Is there a Hand & Plastic Surgery Centre, PLC data breach class action lawsuit?
Law firms often open an investigation after a breach notice like this one, and a class action lawsuit may follow. This page doesn't confirm that a lawsuit has been filed against Hand & Plastic Surgery Centre, PLC. You usually don't have to join a class action to be included — if a settlement is reached, class members are notified and can file a claim.
What should I do after getting the Hand & Plastic Surgery Centre, PLC data breach notice?
Keep the letter and the envelope, and note the date it arrived. Freeze your credit with Equifax, Experian and TransUnion, change any passwords the notice mentions, and sign up for any free credit monitoring the letter offers. Then check whether you may have a claim.
Do I need a Hand & Plastic Surgery Centre, PLC data breach lawyer or attorney?
An attorney can read your notice and tell you whether a claim makes sense. A case review here is free, and data breach cases are usually handled on contingency, so there is no upfront cost.
Can I sue Hand & Plastic Surgery Centre, PLC over the data breach?
It depends on what was exposed, the law in Massachusetts and your own state, and whether you've been harmed. Most people take part through a class action rather than suing alone. Keep your notification letter — it's the proof that connects you to the breach.
How much could a Hand & Plastic Surgery Centre, PLC data breach settlement or claim be worth?
There is no set amount, and no Hand & Plastic Surgery Centre, PLC settlement is confirmed here. In past data breach settlements, payments depended on what data was exposed and on documented losses — fraud, out-of-pocket costs and time spent dealing with the breach. Keep receipts and records; they're what damages claims are built on.

Other open files in Massachusetts

Attorney advertising. An incident file reflects a public regulator filing and our review of it; it does not mean a lawsuit has been filed or that the company did anything unlawful. Submitting a review request does not create an attorney-client relationship.